Under Bloom’s Taxonomy, there are four distinct knowledge dimensions. The first two types (factual and conceptual) constitute the low-level knowledge of what, and the last two high-level knowledge types (procedural and metacognitive) constitute the knowledge of how to. 

Hover over each box to learn more about the knowledge type. 


- knowledge of terminology

- knowledge of specific elements and details

Example: student defines manual muscle testing


- knowledge of subject-specific skills, techniques, and methods

- knowledge of criteria for determining when to use appropriate procedures

Example: Student is able to perform a manual muscle test


- knowledge of categories and classifications

- knowledge of generalizations and principles

- knowledge of models, theories, and structures 

Example: Student understands relationship between muscle function and manual muscle testing


- strategic knowledge

- knowledge of cognitive tasks, including appropriate conditional and contextual knowledge

- self-knowledge 

Example: Student performs and is able to explain why a specific manual muscle test was used


Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top